A Good Relationship

No one enters into a relationship saying they want it to be just ok. We all enter into relationships expecting them to be wonderful, we expect there to be love, romance, trust, and friendship – perfection. Unfortunately many of us also believe that good relationships just happen. The truth is that good and wonderful relationships are possible but it takes work in order to reach this level of nirvana in your relationship. I have had my share of failed relationships and there was always one thing in common. That one thing was ME. I am not taking total responsibility for my failed relationships in the past, but I realized that if I ever wanted to have a successful relationship I had to acknowledge my faults in those past relationships. I was not perfect, I had many flaws and I had to work on me first before I could reach my goal of having a great relationship. For me it took two failed marriages for me to realize that I had been a participant in the failure of those relationships.

The first step to attaining your dream relationship is working on you and ensuring that you possess the character traits and values that you want in your relationship. If you value integrity and honesty you have to be a person with integrity. You can’t be dishonest or keep secrets from you partner if you want integrity in your relationship. If you want your spouse to respect and honor you, you have practice respecting others and giving honor to those around you. This means learning how to treat others with respect. Relationships required give and take, things will not always go your way, but you have to learn the art of disagreeing peacefully.

perfect1

Today I am blessed to be married to my best friend, we have had our share of challenges over the course of the past 15 years but we have both been committed to doing the work on ourselves so that we could have not only a good and wonderful relationship but I think it is nearly PERFECT.

Leave a comment